Calling All Aspiring Female Chefs

James Beard FoundationCalling all aspiring female chefs: how would you like the opportunity to work alongside the likes of chef and restauranteur Kim Bartmann and other top industry leaders?

The James Beard Foundation (JBF) is granting you the opportunity and is now accepting applications for its 2016 Women in Culinary Leadership Grant program.

The mentoring program was launched in 2012 for aspiring chefs and restauranteurs to help build in-depth leadership and management skills in the kitchen and in restaurant management and entrepreneurship. The class of 2016 has 22 open positions offered by 19 mentors.

Women with a background in hospitality or the culinary arts are encouraged to apply for a chance to participate across 15 six-month or seven twelve-month mentor/grantee programs with top industry leaders. The deadline to apply is Monday, February 8, 2016, and candidates will be expected to start their grant program by June 1, 2016.

The 2016 mentors include the following:

1.       Kim Bartmann – Barbette, The Third Bird, Gigi’s Café, Pat’s Tap, Red Stag Supper Club, Tiny Diner, Minneapolis, MN: smallbusinessrevolution.org/story/tiny-diner (one year position)

2.       John Besh  – Besh Restaurant Group, New Orleans: chefjohnbesh.com

3.       Elizabeth Blau – Elizabeth Blau & Associates, Las Vegas: elizabethblau.com (offering two positions)

4.       April Bloomfield  – Spotted Pig, John Dory Oyster Bar, The Breslin, NYC: thespottedpig.com, thejohndory.comthebreslin.com (one year position in each restaurant)

5.       Kevin Boehm and Rob Katz – Boka Restaurant Group, Chicago: bokagrp.com (one year position)

6.       Kevin Brown – LEYE, Chicago: leye.com

7.       Lee Chizmar and Erin Shea – Bolete, Bethlehem, PA: boleterestaurant.com

8.       Rohini Dey – Vermilion Restaurants, Chicago: thevermilionrestaurant.com (one year position)

9.       Tom Douglas  – Tom Douglas Restaurants, Seattle: tomdouglas.com  (one year position)

10.    Paul Fehribach –  Big Jones, Chicago: bigjoneschicago.com

11.    Sam Fox – Fox Restaurant Concepts, Phoenix: foxrc.com

12.    Linton Hopkins  – Restaurant Eugene, Atlanta: restauranteugene.com

13.    Cindy Hutson  – Ortanique Restaurants, Zest, and Zest MRKT, Miami: ortaniquerestaurants.com

14.    Beth Gruitch and Jennifer Jasinski – Rioja, a Crafted Concept Restaurant, Denver: craftedconceptsdenver.com

15.    Matt Jennings – Townsman, Boston: townsmanboston.com

16.    Ti Adelaide Martin – Commander’s Palace, New Orleans: commanderspalace.com

17.    Cindy Pawlcyn  – Mustards Grill, Napa, CA: mustardsgrill.com

18.    Sarah Robbins21c Museum Hotels: Metropole, Cincinnati, OH; Lockbox, Lexington, KY; Proof on Main, Louisville, KY: 21cmuseumhotels/restaurants.com

19.    Stephen Starr  –  STARR Restaurants, Philadelphia: starr-restaurant.com

Eight female chefs have received the Women in Culinary Leadership Grant to date, and of the six who graduated, all received job offers from their mentors.

Recipients have trained and worked in various positions, including the kitchen line, inventory, sourcing, cost control, new menu development, marketing and promotion, event planning, catering, floor management, and more.

Applicants must be at least 21 years of age, and have at least two years of experience in the hospitality industry. Deadline for submissions is February 8, 2016.

For more information about how to apply, please click here.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply